Choghadiya Muhurat is a part of the Vedic Hindu calendar, Panchang. The words ‘Cho’ means four and ‘Ghadi’ mean clock in Hindi and Choghadiya in total mounts to 96 minutes. Choghadiya is an ancient measure for calculations of time in India roughly equivalent to 24 minutes in each division.

Choghadiya Today 07 May 2021,Ashburn

Day Choghadiya

Char 15:34:37 - 14:20:02
Labh 14:20:02 - 13:05:27
Amrit 13:05:27 - 11:50:52
Kaal 11:50:52 - 10:36:16
Shubh 10:36:16 - 09:21:41
Rog 09:21:41 - 08:07:06
Udveg 08:07:06 - 06:52:31
Char 06:52:31 - 05:37:56
Night Choghadiya

Rog 05:37:56 - 06:52:31
Kaal 06:52:31 - 08:07:06
Labh 08:07:06 - 09:21:41
Udveg 09:21:41 - 10:36:16
Shubh 10:36:16 - 11:50:52
Amrit 11:50:52 - 13:05:27
Char 13:05:27 - 14:20:02
Rog 14:20:02 - 15:34:37

Types of Choghadiya

Choghadiya is more rapidly used in most regions of North India as a planner to find a good Muhurat without having to consult an astrologer. In the South a similar concept of Choghadiya, named as Gowri Panchang exists.


  • Amrut
  • Shubh
  • Labh
  • Char

  • Udveg
  • Kal
  • Rog
Method of calculation of Choghadiya
For the calculation of Choghadiya, each day is split into two time periods: Daytime which is the period from sunrise to sunset Night-time which is the period from sunset to sunrise These two divisions are then sub divided into eight equal parts. Each of these eight divisions approximately equivalent to four Ghatis and this division of time is known as Choghadiya.

Importance of Choghadiya Each of the Choghadiya divisions can equally be advantageous or disadvantageous depending upon the date and time of each day. The Choghadiyas are decided on various aspects. The first Choghadiya of the day is calculated on the basis of the ruling planet of the day.

Choghadiya Interpretation

Ruling Planet Muhurat Meaning Effects Types of work
Sun Udveg Anxiety Bad Administrative
Mercury Labh Profit Good Business, Education
Venus Char Movements Good Travel and tourism
Mars Rog Illness Bad War, Fights
Jupiter Shubh Auspicious Good Marriage, Puja, Devotional activities
Saturn Kaal Death Bad Health, Wealth, Construction
Moon Amrut Nectar Good Any and every

The time of Vaar Vela, Kaal Vela and Kaal Ratri are not considered to be auspicious in Indian Astrology and should be avoided when performing propitious activities.

Today Panchang

As the name suggests, Today Panchang is a part of the Hindu Calender i.e, Panchang, which...

Read More

Today’s Tithi

There are a total of 30 tithis in a month defined in Vedic Astrology. The first fifteen...

Read More

Today's Vaar

In the Hindu Vedic Astrology, Vaar is the name given to the solar days. Just like the ...

Read More

Today's Shubh Muhurat

Shubh Muhurat, or auspicious time, in Panchang is that time duration in which planets...

Read More

Today's Nakshatra

'Constellations' or group of stars are known as Nakshatra in Indian Astrology. There are 27...

Read More

Talk To India's Best Astrologers

Consult the best Vedic Astrologers, Tarot Readers, Numerologists and Vaastu experts online...

Consult Now

Today's Rahu Kaal

The period of Rahu or Rahu Kaal, as more popularly known in the Indian Vedic calendar is a...

Read More

Today's Shubh Hora

Vedic astrology defines each hour of the day as ‘Hora’. Just like the western clock, there are 24...

Read More

Today's Yoga

Translated as summation, Yog is calculated by taking the sum of longitudes of the Sun and Moon...

Read More

Today's Karana

Karan is one half of a Tithi i.e, for every 30 in a particular month there are 60 Karan...

Read More


Festivals are an important part of our lives; they represent the beauty of our culture...

Read More

Zodiac Signs

Astrology, focuses on a person’s astrological or zodiac sign, to a large extent. There are 12 Zodiac ...

Read More

chat support Support
chat support
Chat Now for Support