Skip Navigation Links
Speak To Astrologer

Chinese Astrology

Know Your Chinese Sign

Chinese Zodiac Signs

Chinese astrology has been in use since ages and is one of the oldest in the world of astrology. It is based on twelve lunar cycles and unlike the western astrology, every sign is represented by one of the twelve animals. Hence, these twelve animals form the Chinese Zodiac Signs. There are certain traits that are associated with each animal and the individual who is born in that cycle reflects similar attributes. It is commonly used in finding the love compatibility. This astrology uses the concepts of Ying-Yang. Each Zodiac either forms a part of Yin or Yang. The five elements form an essential part of Chinese astrology and these elements are fire, water, wood, metal and earth. Feng Shui is an intricate section of Chinese astrology dealing with the balance of energies. Similarly, I-Ching or the Book of Changes is used in predicting the events and making various astrological changes.

Find Your Chinese Sign
Chinese astrology has been in use since ages and is one of the oldest in the world of astrology.
rupa batra
Chinese Love Compatibility
Chinese astrology has been in use since ages and is one of the oldest in the world of astrology.

Chinese Astrology 12 animals Sign

Chinese astrology is said to be the oldest horoscope system in the world. The foundation of Chinese astrology is Yin/Yang, the 12 animals and the 5 elements.

The consideration of Yin and Yang is a very great influence upon this subject, Yin being passive, female and receptive while Yang is aggressive, male and exploratory. Chinese Astrology is concerned with nature and its traits, the signs progress year by year whereas Western Astrology cycles monthly. Unlike Western astrology, Chinese astrology has nothing to do with Planets and their actions

Chinese Astrology and the order of the twelve animals that define it was determined thousands of years ago by Lord Buddha himself. According to ancient scripts, Buddha realised that the Chinese nation needed a reorganisation. So on the occasion of the Chinese New Year (which occurs on different dates from mid-January to mid-February), Buddha called upon the entire animal kingdom for a meeting. But only twelve animals (rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, pig, monkey, rooster, dog and sheep) showed up for this meeting.

Buddha then honoured them in the order of their arrival by endowing upon them with a year of their own. From then on, each successive year of the Chinese calendar bore that character of the animal that gave it a name and so, those born in specific animal years are marked by the nature of their natal animal.

Yet, all people born in the same animal are not the same literally and do differ from each other in certain aspects. These differences are determined by the various elements of Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal, and Water. Each of these elements distinguishes one person of the same animal from the other.



Free Readings

You may also like