A Panchang is an elaborate Hindu calendar and almanac that resorts to the traditional units of the Indian Vedic scriptures to provide information relevant to astrologers for them to forecast celestial occurrences, mark auspicious and inauspicious time frames for important occasions such as marriage, education, career, travel, etc.

Today's Panchang

As the name suggests, Today Panchang is a part of the Hindu Calender i.e, Panchang, which...

Read More

Today's Horoscope

A horoscope is an astrology chart that is well prepared in order to examine the future...

Read More

Sombreness of Panchang

Panchang consists of two words namely, 'Panch' and 'Ang', Panch means 'Five' and Ang means 'Limbs'. Panchang is created by taking into account five aspects of the tradition Hindu timekeeping limbs or ‘ang’: day of the week (vaar); tithi or lunar day; constellation or nakshatra; yoga; and karan. The study of Panchang is the fundamental understanding of Rashi Phala, the impact of each of the 12 zodiac signs on an individual and how their day to day lives change based on several movements of the planets. The casting of a Panchang requires elaborate mathematical work involving high level of spherical geometry and in depth understanding of astronomical phenomena. However, in practice the tabulation is done on the basis of short-cut formulations as propounded by ancient Vedic sages and scholars.

Panchang is created for the fundamental use of providing information on how a day might look like, how people should optimize the ‘subh’ or positive span of time in order to lead a happy and prosperous life and what should they refrain from doing at negative hours of the day to avoid problems. Panchangs are optimally utilizing in the Hindu culture for planning important events and functions in a person’s life. Panchang matches the current planetary configurations with the position of the heavenly bodies in a person’s astrological chart, so that the auspicious days can be pin-pointed in their best interests.
The Panchang is also used to calculate Vedic birth chart or natal chart of a person. The calculations done in order to create a Panchang are based upon the position or movement of planets, star or Nakshatra in a certain sign at certain degrees. These calculations depict how these movements and transitions are supposed to affect a person on a particular date and can be done to minimise the negative and maximise the positive effects. The Panchang is used to calculate tithi, vaar, yog, karan and nakshatra to find out Muhurat or an auspicious time to perform any important task.

Necessity of Panchang

For any auspicious occasion or function, Hindus refer to Panchang which provides detailed knowledge and significance of a date and a particular duration of time. It is believed that if a new venture, in the form of business, career, marriage, etc is to undergo then it should be done at an opportune time and this time can be determined by referring to Panchang.

Talk To India's Best Astrologers

Consult the best Vedic Astrologers, Tarot Readers, Numerologists and Vaastu experts online...

Read More

Today’s Tithi

There are a total of 30 tithis in a month defined in Vedic Astrology. The first fifteen...

Read More

Today's Vaar

In the Hindu Vedic Astrology, Vaar is the name given to the solar days. Just like the ...

Read More

Today's Shubh Muhurat

Shubh Muhurat, or auspicious time, in Panchang is that time duration in which planets...

Read More

Today's Nakshatra

'Constellations' or group of stars are known as Nakshatra in Indian Astrology. There are 27...

Read More

Today's Choghadiya

Choghadiya Muhurat is a part of the Vedic Hindu calendar, Panchang. The words...

Read More

Today's Rahu Kaal

The period of Rahu or Rahu Kaal, as more popularly known in the Indian Vedic calendar is a...

Read More

Today's Shubh Hora

Vedic astrology defines each hour of the day as ‘Hora’. Just like the western clock, there are 24...

Read More

Today's Yoga

Translated as summation, Yog is calculated by taking the sum of longitudes of the Sun and Moon...

Read More

Today's Karana

Karan is one half of a Tithi i.e, for every 30 in a particular month there are 60 Karan...

Read More


Festivals are an important part of our lives; they represent the beauty of our culture...

Read More

Zodiac Signs

Astrology, focuses on a person’s astrological or zodiac sign, to a large extent. There are 12 Zodiac...

Read More
chat Support Chat now for Support
chat Support Support