Vaar - Day

In the Hindu Vedic Astrology, Vaar is the name given to the solar days. Just like the western calendar, there are a total of 7 Vaars in the Hindu calendar.

Day Today

Importance of Vaar in Panchang
22 April 2021 |
Vaar - Monday

Importance of Vaar in Panchang

Translated as 'Day' of the week, Vaar is an important branch in the formation of Panchang and is completely based on the revolution of the earth on its axis. The time difference between one sunrise to another is known as 'Vaar' or Day. Each Vaar is influenced by a planet and associates with the characteristics of that planet.
In the Hindu Vedic calendar, Vaars are used to mark the beginning of auspicious and inauspicious times to perform a task or activity.

The 7 Vaars, their western denotation and the planets that rule each of these Vaars can be understood from the chart given below:

Vaar Western Name Ruling Planet
Ravivar Sunday Sun
Somvar Monday Moon
Mangalwar Tuesday Mars
Budhwar Wednesday Mercury
Guruwar Thursday Jupiter
Shukrawar Friday Venus
Shanivar Saturday Saturn

Penumbras Rahu and Ketu are associated with Tuesday and Saturday.
Counting of each day begins with the sunrise and ends with the sunrise of the next day. Each day or Vaar consists of a 24 hour cycle and this is denoted as a Hora in the Vedic calendar. Governance of each planet on each of the days gives them their respective names.

Auspicious and Inauspicious effects of each Vaar

Although, each day is a new beginning and is the right time to perform any tasks if you really wish to, there are certain advantages and disadvantages to each day. In the Vedic calendar, there are some days which are considered to be very auspicious while some which are not. A complete understanding of these days can be found here:

Sunday – Ravivar
The first day of every calendar, Sunday is ruled by the Sun and is good for the beginning of usage of new medicines, buying cars, property, metallic things, judicial advice, buying pets

Monday – Somavaar
Second day of the week, Monday is ruled by Moon and is good for purchasing of agricultural equipment, agricultural activities, tourism, wearing new clothes or gemstones, buying and selling of jewellery.

Tuesday – Mangalwar
Third day of the week, Tuesday is ruled by Mars and is considered inauspicious for undertaking detective work, judicial work, military work, important decision making.

Wednesday- Budhwar
Fourth day of the week, Wednesday is ruled by Mercury and is considered good for undertaking works such as applying for loan, education, house warming, opening an account.

Thursday – Guruwar
Fifth day of the week, Thursday is ruled by Jupiter and is considered good for getting an education in Science, judicial work, religious works, jewellery buying, marital works.

Friday – Shukrawar
Sixth day of the week, Friday is ruled by Venus and is considered good for partaking works in the field of agriculture, motion pictures, co-curricular activities, initiating romance

Saturday – Shaniwar
Last day of the week, Saturday is ruled by Saturn and is considered inauspicious for performing most tasks except for house warming, employment, purchasing of new car, religious activities.

Consult India's top expert astrologers online right here! For details click here!

Today Panchang

As the name suggests, Today Panchang is a part of the Hindu Calender i.e, Panchang, which...

Read More

Today’s Tithi

There are a total of 30 tithis in a month defined in Vedic Astrology. The first fifteen...

Read More

Talk To India's Best Astrologers

Consult the best Vedic Astrologers, Tarot Readers, Numerologists and Vaastu experts online...

Consult Now

Today's Shubh Muhurat

Shubh Muhurat, or auspicious time, in Panchang is that time duration in which planets...

Read More

Today's Nakshatra

'Constellations' or group of stars are known as Nakshatra in Indian Astrology. There are 27...

Read More

Today's Choghadiya

Choghadiya Muhurat is a part of the Vedic Hindu calendar, Panchang. The words...

Read More

Today's Rahu Kaal

The period of Rahu or Rahu Kaal, as more popularly known in the Indian Vedic calendar is a...

Read More

Today's Shubh Hora

Vedic astrology defines each hour of the day as ‘Hora’. Just like the western clock, there are 24...

Read More

Today's Yoga

Translated as summation, Yog is calculated by taking the sum of longitudes of the Sun and Moon...

Read More

Today's Karana

Karan is one half of a Tithi i.e, for every 30 in a particular month there are 60 Karan...

Read More


Festivals are an important part of our lives; they represent the beauty of our culture...

Read More

Zodiac Signs

Astrology, focuses on a person’s astrological or zodiac sign, to a large extent. There are 12 Zodiac ...

Read More

chat support Support
chat support
Chat Now for Support