IPL Teams

The 12th season of IPL is about to start from 23rd March and all the 8 teams have geared up for the tournament. These eight teams will undergo a rigorous set of matches over the span of approximately two months, each team playing each other twice in a home-and-away round-robin format in the league phase. These matches will lead to the conclusion of the league where the top four teams will qualify for the playoffs and after that two of the remaining teams will fight the ultimate battle to get their hands on the trophy and become the next champions.

The eights franchise had a hectic bidding war in Jaipur last year in December for the 2019 IPL. Around 60 players were bought by the 8 franchise and a whopping 106 crore was spent to buy them. While Kings XI Punjab spent a total of 32.5 crore to buy 13 player, the maximum for this season, Chennai Super Kings only bought 2 for a total spent of 5.2 crore. Other than this there were transfers and trades of players made. Team Delhi along with its changed name to Delhi Capitals took up Shikhar Dhawan in the transfer. Royal Challengers Bangalore ended up bidding and buying Virat Kohli for a huge sum of 17 crore, the highest price ever in the IPL history. Rajasthan Royals welcomed their star player Ajinkya Rahane back in the squad along with Jaydev Unadkat begin the highest bought player. Kolkata Knight Riders had little to do in the auction as they retained most of the players. Same was the case with Mumbai Indians whose biggest investments came as Yuvraj Singh and Lasith Malinga and Sunrisers Hyderabad who, along with only three buys completed their squad.

The opening match of the 2019 IPL will be played between Chennai Super Kings, the reigning champions and the Royal Challengers Bangalore with both the teams wanting to win the match and have a good start to the tournament.

Chat Now for Support