What Is The Role of Benefic And Malefic Planets in Your Horoscope? Find Out Here!

bell icon Wed, Jun 15, 2022
Team Astroyogi By Team Astroyogi
What Is The Role of Benefic And Malefic Planets in Your Horoscope? Find Out Here!

Each of our solar system's planets has its astrological traits. However, when it coincides with another planet, it might lose its original strength due to the shadow cast by other planets. These planets are divided into benefic and malefic planets and significantly influence your zodiac sign. Eager to learn more? Read on to know everything.

According to Vedic Astrology, a horoscope consists of 12 houses and nine planets. Astrology is based on ancient texts, but it also incorporates modern methods. An ancient approach to astrology, horoscope analysis, is assisting people in better understanding their lives. Horoscope analysis is a very detailed process in which we must pick up on all of the horoscope's minute features.

Looking for a detailed horoscope analysis? Turn to Astroyogi astrologers.

More About Benefic And Malefic Planets

The role of benefic and malefic planets is crucial in your zodiac sign. Because there are two types of malefic and benefic planets, it can be a complex idea to grasp. The two types are:

  • Functional Benefic and Malefic Planets
  • Natural Benefic and Malefic Planets

Some planets are considered malefic (harmful), while others are deemed benefic (beneficial). Jupiter, for example, is a natural benefic, whereas Saturn is a natural malefic. The planet Jupiter can become malefic, and Saturn can become benefic for some Lagnas; therefore, when the planets become benefic or malefic according to the Lagna, it is known as functional benefics and malefics.

How to Find Benefic And Malefic Planets in Birth Chart

Finding the functional benefic and malefic planet requires a variety of techniques. Finding the relationship between the planets is one such technique. Apart from benefics and malefics, there is also neutral.

The concept of functional benefic and malefic planets is a unique Vedic astrology parameter. Western astrologers are now adopting these principles as well. Not only that, but Vedic astrology provides numerous strategies for reliable horoscope reading.

What Are The Natural Benefic And Malefic Planets?

Saturn, Mars, Rahu, and Ketu are malefic planets, and the Sun is also malefic but not as damaging as the other malefic planets. Jupiter and Venus are natural benefic planets, whereas the planet's conjunction determines the Moon and Mercury's auspiciousness. They'll act as benefics if they're conjunct benefic and malefics if they're conjunct malefic. As a result, the Moon and Mercury can't be classified as either positive or negative.

Benefic And Malefic Planets in Your Zodiac


The benefic planets for the Aries Lagna are Jupiter, Mars, the Moon, and the Sun. Mars is the Lagna lord, and the Sun, Moon, and Jupiter are Mars' allies; therefore, the Dasha of these planets will be beneficial to the Aries Lagna.

Rahu and Ketu are the malefic planets for the Aries Lagna since they are Mars's enemies. Mars has a neutral relationship with Saturn and Venus. Mercury is an enemy planet for the Aries Lagna, and it rules the 6th House of negativity.


Venus is the ruler of the Taurus Lagna; therefore, Saturn and Mercury are all functional benefic planets as they are friends with Venus.

Moon, Mars, Rahu, Ketu, and Jupiter are all functional malefic planets for Taurus. Sun is known to be a neutral planet for Taurus Lagna, even though Sun and Venus are not friends.


Mercury is the ruler of Gemini, and Venus and Saturn are Mercury's friends. They are, therefore, functional benefic planets for Gemini Lagna.

Mars is considered the most malefic planet for Gemini Lagna, followed by Rahu, Ketu, Jupiter, and the Sun. For Gemini Lagna, the Moon and Mercury are neutral planets.


The Moon is Cancer Lagna's ruler, and Mars and the Moon are Cancer Lagna's only functional benefics.

Jupiter, Saturn, and Mercury are functional malefics in Cancer's Lagna. For Cancer Lagna, Rahu, Ketu, Venus, and the Sun are all neutral planets.


As Sun is the ruler of Leo Lagna, Mars, Jupiter, and the Sun are all functional benefic planets.

Venus, Mercury, Rahu, Ketu, and the Moon are all functional malefic planets in Leo's Lagna. On the other hand, Saturn is a maraka planet for Leo Lagna.


Mercury is Virgo's ruler, and Mercury and Venus are the two benefic planets in the Virgo Lagna.

Mars, Jupiter, Rahu, Ketu, and the Moon are all functional malefic planets for the Virgo Lagna. The Sun is neutral for Virgo Lagna.


The functional benefics for Libra Lagna are Saturn, Venus, and Mercury.

The functional malefic planets are Rahu, Ketu, Sun, Jupiter, and Mars. Mars, on the other hand, is a mildly malefic planet. For Libra Lagna, the Moon is neutral.


Mars is the Lagna Lord of the star sign Scorpio, and Mars, Moon, Jupiter, and the Sun are the functional benefic planets for the Scorpio Lagna.

Venus, Rahu, and Ketu are functional malefic planets in the Scorpio Lagna.


Jupiter rules Sagittarius, but Mars and the Sun are the most benefic planets in this Lagna.

Venus, Mercury, Rahu, and Ketu are functional malefic planets for the Sagittarius Lagna. Venus is the most malefic of them all. The Moon and Jupiter are neutral.


Saturn is the ruler of the Capricorn Lagna, and Venus, Mercury, and Saturn are the functional benefic planets of the Capricorn Lagna. Because Saturn and Venus are friends, Venus is the most benefic planet.

Mars, Moon, Rahu, and Ketu are the functional malefic planets for this Lagna. The Sun and Jupiter are neutral.


The ruler of the Aquarius Lagna is Saturn, and the functional benefic planets for this Lagna are Venus and Saturn.

Mars, Jupiter, Moon, Rahu, and Ketu are functional malefic planets. The Sun and Mercury are neutral.


The Moon and Mars are functional benefic planets for Pisces Lagna, while Jupiter is its ruler.

Venus, Sun, Rahu, and Ketu are all functional malefic planets. Mercury and Jupiter are neutral.

Contact Astroyogi's astrologers if you want to learn more about the benefic and malefic planets.

✍️By - Team Astroyogi