Purple Cap: Why Every Cricket Player in IPL Wants to Win The Purple Cap?

bell icon Fri, Mar 25, 2022
Team Astroyogi By Team Astroyogi
Purple Cap: Why Every Cricket Player in IPL Wants to Win The Purple Cap?

The IPL is loved by cricket fans. Every player puts their best foot forward, for which they are applauded, awarded, and given special recognition. One such prestigious honor is the Purple Cap in IPL. Read to know everything about the Purple Cap and why it is given to cricket players.

Cricket is more than a sport for people in India; it is a bona fide religion. Every victory in a Cricket match is celebrated like a festival in India. People of all ages in India love Cricket. No wonder die-hard Cricket fans eagerly wait for the IPL season! The Indian Premier League, popularly known as IPL, adds to this enthusiasm.

IPL's arrival means that the fans will see the biggest names in Cricket and talented first-timers competing, a shower of fours and sixes, and a flurry of wickets. The fans also eagerly wait to watch the IPL teams battle it out with each other so that one could emerge as the ultimate champion. Along with exciting matches, another thing that attracts fans the most is finding out who will win the coveted Purple Cap in IPL 2022

Let us know what an IPL Purple Cap is.

A Glimpse Into IPL

The IPL is a professional Twenty20 or T20 cricket league based in India, consisting of various teams based out of ten Indian cities. The Board of Control (BCCI) officially started this league in India in 2008. The IPL is generally held between the months of March and May every year.

The IPL 2022, which is the fifteenth season, will be known as Tata IPL 2022. This year, IPL will start on 26th March 2022 (Saturday) and end on 29th May 2022 (Sunday). The group stage of IPL 2022 matches will be played in Mumbai and Pune. In 2022, ten teams will fight for the prestigious IPL trophy instead of eight teams. This time, the excitement is tremendous as two new teams, i.e., Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans will get on the field to fight for the coveted trophy. The first match of this tournament will be played between Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Apart from finding out who won the trophy, the audience is also keen to find out who will be the big winners of the several honorable awards at the end of the season. The IPL Purple Cap and Orange Cap are two such special honors given to the players for their extraordinary performance.

What Is The Purple Cap in IPL?

Star batsmen and bowlers from all over the world, including India, participate in the IPL. It is every bowler's dream to become an IPL Purple Cap winner. The IPL Purple Cap is presented to the leading wicket-taker in the tournament. After the introduction of the Orange Cap, the IPL Purple Cap was introduced on 13th May 2008 during IPL's inaugural season. The bowler with the highest amount of wickets in the tournament in a season will get to wear the Purple Cap while fielding. On the other hand, the bowler who has the most dismissals, i.e., the leading wicket-taker, at the end of the tournament will win the IPL Purple Cap.

The Purple Cap in IPL is an enormous honor that every player wants. This is why every player performs their best on the field, as a result of which this award is passed from one bowler to another as the tournament progresses before finally reaching the leading wicket-taker at the end. Many legendary names in Cricket have been the recipient of this Cap. The first IPL Purple Cap winner was Pakistan's left-arm pacer Sohail Tanvir from Rajasthan Royals. He was successful in taking 22 wickets and was a significant reason behind the success of the Rajasthan Royals. So far, Dwayne Bravo and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are the only bowlers who have won the Purple Cap twice. Dwayne Bravo of Chennai Super Kings took 32 wickets in 2013, which is the most for any bowler in a single edition, making him a Purple Cap holder. Harshal Patel also took 32 wickets in IPL 2013, but Bravo was ahead of him due to the better economy rate.

Purple Cap Winners in IPL: Find Out Here!

In every season of the IPL, each player puts their best foot forward and tries to become an IPL Purple Cap winner. But, the players who have consistently performed well get a chance to bag this award. The Purple Cap is given to the bowler with the most wickets. However, when there is a tie, the bowler with the superior economy rate is given the Purple Cap. 

Given below is the IPL Purple Cap winners list

Year Winners and Teams
2008 Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals)
2009 RP Singh (Deccan Chargers)
2010 Pragyan Ojha (Deccan Chargers)
2011 Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians)
2012 Morne Morkel (Delhi Daredevils)
2013 Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)
2014 Mohit Sharma (Chennai Super Kings)
2015 Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)
2016 Bhuvaneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
2017 Bhuvaneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
2018 Andrew Tye (Kings XI Punjab)
2019 Imran Tahir (Chennai Super Kings)
2020 Kagiso Rabada (Delhi Capitals)
2021 Harshal Patel (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

IPL is the ultimate thrill for all cricket fans. This time as well, the race for the IPL Purple Cap race will officially start when all the franchises have played one game each. The competition amongst the players to become one of the IPL Purple Cap winners will be exciting this year. Tune in and watch the IPL to find out who will become the prestigious Purple Cap winner in IPL 2022!

If you have any questions related to astrology, get in touch with the expert Astroyogi astrologers.

✍️By - Team Astroyogi

Read More: - IPL 2022: Get to Know The IPL Match Schedule, Dates, And Venue