Skip Navigation Links
The Ashtkootas in Kundli matching:

The Ashtkootas in Kundli matching:

Kundli Milan is an important step before an Indian Marriage because people have immense faith in the ‘Kundli Milan’ ritual of Vedic astrology. Here, Moon's placement plays a very important role. Moon's placement in the horoscope provides the Astrologers with the janam Rashi (Moon Sign) and Nakshatra (Constellation) of the native which are two key aspects in Vedic Astrology. The compatibility analysis is done for eight crucial personality aspects of the bride and groom. These eight aspects are called ‘Ashtkootas’ in Vedic astrology. Each Koota or aspect shown in the Horoscope is given different weight age or points while doing a Kundli matching. These points are known as ‘Guna’ in Vedic astrology. There are a total of 36 Gunas and a couple is found compatible only if they have more than 18 points or Gunas matched after the Kundli matching process. The below mentioned are the Ashtkootas and the Gunas allocate to each of the Koota while doing a Kundli matching.

1.    Varan: (1 Guna)

2.    Vasya: (2 Guna)

3.    Tara: (3 Guna)

4.    Yoni: (4 Guna)

5.    Grah Maitri: (5 Guna)

6.    Gana: (6 Guna)

7.    Bhakoot: (7 Guna)

8.    Nadi: (8 Guna)

AstroYogi’s expert Vedic astrologers explain each of the eight ‘Kootas’ for our readers. Read on.

Consult our expert astrologers online for Kundli matching. Get your Kundli matching done from the privacy and comfort of your home.

Your First consultation worth ₹100/- is absolutely free. Click here.


This Koota represents the spiritual compatibility of the bride and groom. It checks the ego level and personalities of both of them. Matching of Varna Koota ensures that there is less friction between the couple and if they can get along well. This also pertains to the inherent skills and abilities of a person. Natives are classified into Brahmin, Kshatriya, Vaisya and Shudra according to their birth chart analysis.


Here the astrologer would be checking the power equation between the couple. This test will provide the astrologer with insights about who would be dominant partner amongst the two. Natives are classified as Manav, Vanchar, Chatuspad, Jalachar and Keet according to their aggression level which is found in the Horoscope.


In this analysis the Janam nakshatra or natives constellation is taken into consideration. This tests the health aspect of the natives, their general wellbeing and longevity. For this analysis, the inter-relationship of the Janam nakshatra are considered. Vedic Astrology rates these inter-relationship as being naturally auspicious or inauspicious.According to this analysis the birth stars are classified as —Janama, Sampat, Vipata, Kshema, Pratyari, Sadhaka, Vadha, Mitra and Ati-mitra.


This Koota pertains to the sexual inclinations and biological compatibility of the couple. This would provide the astrologer with insights about the level of physical satisfaction which the couple will have in their sex life.

Graha Maitri

For this analysis the ruling planet of Janam rashi (Moon Sign) is taken into consideration. This reflects the mental compatibility, affection and friendship between thecouple after their marriage. It denotes the domestic affairs and the mutual understanding between the couple.


Gana indicates the habits and behaviors of the couple, their mental compatibility and temperaments. This is a vital factor and is given 6 points or gunas which means that the best matched couples will get a maximum of 6 points or Gunas in this analysis. People are classified as Devata, Manushya and Rakshasa for this analysis and a couple will be best match if they both belong to the same classification.


In Bhakut test, the constellation of the couple is taken into consideration. This test is necessary to analyze the family welfare and financial prosperity after marriage. Most compatible couple will get a maximum of 7 points in this analysis.


Here also the janam nakshatra or constellation is taken into consideration. This analysis shows nervous energy of the couple which pertains to physiological and heredity factors. This is also a test to check the genetic compatibility between the couple to produce healthy off springs after marriage.

You can consult the best Vedic astrologers, who are 100% verified for genuineness and expertise to do your Kundli matching.

Your first consultation worth 100/- is absolutely free. Click here.

Traditionally yours,



Two Totally Opposite Sides of Every Zodiac

Two Totally Opposi...

Everyone has their good traits. But these good traits can have an opposite effect if the situation is outside our comfort zone. There are two totally opposite sides ...

Read more
Is It the Most Stable Time Period in 2018? Explains Expert Astrologer Prof. C.S Rao

Is It the Most Sta...

Yes- it is a stable time period in spite of CHALLENGES. One who can withstand challenges can get the best of the least number of transits occurring in the 2018 Grego...

Read more
Understanding the Importance of Minor Arcana in Tarot Reading

Understanding the ...

The Minor Arcana of the Tarot deck consists of 56 cards which are divided into four suits of 14 cards each: Swords, Cups, Pentacles and Wands. Each suit is further d...

Read more
The Most Appealing Trait Of Each Zodiac Sign

The Most Appealing...

ARIES- Aries are known for their drive and ambition. They have a take-charge attitude in every situation and they do not delay in finishing any task they get. This t...

Read more
Impact of Solar Eclipse on 12 Zodiac Signs by Astrologer Ruchee Mittal

Impact of Solar Ec...

There are two solar eclipse going to occur on 13th July 2018 and 11th August 2018 respectively. Even though these eclipses will not be visible in India but still the...

Read more