What’s Vedic Astrology & How Does It Differ From Western Astrology

bell icon Thu, Apr 24, 2014
Team Astroyogi By Team Astroyogi
What’s Vedic Astrology & How Does It Differ From Western Astrology -

Vedic Astrology is a very old Indian science and is concerned with planetary motions and positions vis-à-vis time and their impact on human beings and other bodies. This ancient Indian science has a deep history. Vedic Astrology’s origin dates back to more than Thousands of years. Initially, Vedic Astrology was mainly based on the movement of the planets with respect to stars. However, later zodiac symbols were also made a part of Vedic Astrology.

Vedic Astrology suggests that there are 27 constellations constituted of 12 zodiac signs, 9 planets and 12 houses. Each house and planet stands for some characteristic of human life. On the basis of when a person is born, these 12 symbols are distributed among the 12 houses, and 9 planets are accommodated in the different houses. A horoscope chart is this visual representation of the snapshot of these signs and planets. Vedic astrology is nothing but interpreting the significance of these arrangements as it applies to human beings and other bodies.

Vedic Astrology Vs Western Astrology

  • Vedic System Is More Precise
    The interpretations of Vedic astrology are believed to be more accurate than Western Astrology. In this type of astrology, one gets an improved view of the Karmic tendencies of a person and discovers when these would impact one’s life.

  • Astronomical Dissimilarities
    The Western zodiac is Tropical while the Vedic zodiac is Sidereal. According to the Western Astrology, the beginning point of the zodiac is the precise point in space where the Sun crosses the Earth’s equator. But, in Vedic Astrology, the alignment of the many zodiac symbols is closely linked to 27 constellations.

  • Vedic Astrology Focuses On Just Nine Planets
    While Western Astrology acknowledges all the planets (this includes those discovered recently), Vedic Astrology acknowledges and focuses on just nine planets, namely, Saturn, Jupiter, Mars, Venus, Mercury, Moon, Sun, Rahu, and Ketu. Moon’s two nodes, Rahu and Ketu, are completely ignored by the Western Astrology.