9 Planets in Astrology

Thursday, July 25, 2019

In Vedic Astrology, there are 9 significant planets that are believed to influence a number of aspects in an individual's life like physical traits, personality traits, success and wealth, etc. The 9 planets are- Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Rahu, and Ketu. How these planets influence a person has been briefly described below-


Consult the best astrologers in India on Astroyogi. Click here to consult now!


Sun - Some basic astrological facts about the Sun included- It rules the zodiac sign Leo and rules the Fifth House in Astrology. It is friendly with Moon, planets Mars and Jupiter, enemies with planets Venus and Saturn, and is neutral with Mercury. Sun influences personality traits like courage, willpower, intelligence, leadership, and spirituality. It also results in the native being kind, optimistic, and responsible. A strong Sun in the chart is considered auspicious and indicates good health and appearance, higher education, good employment opportunities, essential leadership skills and social status, and, often, some materialistic comforts.


Moon - Moon is believed to control human emotions, feelings, and mood. This celestial body rules the zodiac Cancer and represents the 4th House. It spends almost 2.5 days in each sign and takes approximately 30 days to complete its astrological cycle. Moon is friendly with Jupiter, Sun, Mercury, and is enemies with Saturn, Rahu, and Ketu. A strong Moon indicates a good relationship with the mother. Astrologers believe that the Moon makes natives sensitive, emotional, and domesticated. While auspicious Moon can bless the native with good appearance, speaking abilities, memory, and intellect, a weak Moon can make the native temperamental, insensitive, and health problems.


Mercury - Also known as Budha in Sanskrit, it is the most prominent planet of speech, communication, and intellect. A strong Mercury improves speaking and calculative skills of the native, and influences their sense of understanding, expressing, and interpreting. ‘Mercurial’ people exhibit orderliness and methodical behavior. These individuals are also believed to have good physical features and have a witty and good sense of humor. Mercury rules the zodiacs, Gemini and Virgo, and represents the 3rd and 6th Houses in the natal chart. It spends 25 days in each sign and takes about 10 months to circle the zodiac cycle. Mercury is friendly with Sun, Venus, Rahu, and enemies with Moon and Ketu. 


Venus - Planet Venus rules the zodiac Taurus and Libra, and represents the 2nd and 7th Houses. It takes 28 days in each zodiac and takes 225 days to circle the zodiac cycle. This planet is all about material pleasure, love, romance, marriage, and friendship. Also known as the God of Love, it also represents beauty, the creative arts, and opulence. Planet Venus, in astrology, is friendly with Saturn, Mercury, and Rahu, and his enemies with Moon, Sun, and Mars. Despite being a ‘feminine planet’, men and women ruled by Venus are kind and social beings. A weak Venus can result in unhappy conditions at home, complications in love and relationships, and some difficulties with friends.


Mars - Those ruled by the planet Mars exhibit traits like courage, action, passion, ambition, and a fighting spirit! It also controls other traits like ambition, desire, and senses. A strong Mars will give the native self-confidence, muscular strength, and the will and determination to succeed. On the other hand, a weak Mars may make the individual short-tempered, argumentative, and frustrated. Mars rules zodiac signs Aries and Scorpio, and the 1st and 8th Houses. It spends 45 days in each zodiac, and approximately 1.5 years to complete the zodiac cycle. Mars is friendly with Sun, Moon, Jupiter, and enemies with Mercury and Rahu.


Jupiter - Jupiter is considered to be the giant planet in astrology, and hence is called the ‘Guru’ of Gods. A strong Jupiter bestows upon the native a considerable amount of good luck. It influences traits like intelligence and wisdom, humanity and generosity, and optimism. However, a weak or malefic Jupiter can make the native careless, extravagant, debt-ridden, and disputed. Jupiter rules the zodiac signs Sagittarius and Pisces and represents the 9th and 12th Houses in the natal chart. It spends 13 months in a zodiac and takes about 12 years to complete the zodiac circle. Jupiter is friendly with Sun, Moon, Mars, and his enemies with Venus and Mercury.


Saturn - Saturn or Shani is believed to govern longevity in the native. The planet spends about 2.5 years in one zodiac sign and takes 30 years to complete the zodiac cycle. It rules zodiacs Capricorn and Aquarius and represents the 10th and 11th Houses. Saturn is friendly with Ketu, Mercury, Venus, and his enemies with Mars, Sun, and Moon. A strong Saturn will result in a better life for the individual. It teaches the native to be humble and patient and helps them seek the purpose of life. Saturn also teaches many life lessons associated with life, along with many aspects like spirituality, detachment, sincerity, stability, and consistency.


Rahu - Rahu and Ketu are not physical planets, but are still considered to have a significant impact on natives. Both Rahu and Ketu are Shadow Planets, without any shape or size. Astrologers believe that Rahu is a malefic planet, and does not rule any zodiac or any natal House. Rahu is friendly with Mercury, Saturn, Venus, and enemies with Sun, Moon, and Mars. It spends 18 months in a zodiac sign and takes 18 years to complete the zodiac cycle. Rahu is considered auspicious in Houses 1, 4, 7 and 10, and considered inauspicious in Houses 6, 8, and 12. Rahu influences aspects of native-like ambition, health problems, problems in reputation or finance. If connected to the marriage houses (2nd, 7th, or 12th) or planets, it can cause problems in the native’s marital relationship. 


Ketu - Like Rahu, Ketu is also a Shadow planet, and is also considered malefic. It is the southern lunar node and is always positioned opposite Rahu. Ketu signifies liberation (or Moksha) and represents mysterious knowledge, mystic science, and spiritual pursuits. Ketu is friendly with Venus, Rahu, Ketu, and Saturn, and enemies with Mars, Sun, and Moon. It spends 1.5 years in each zodiac and takes 18 years to complete the zodiac cycle.


#Astroyogi #GPSforLife  



9th Day of Navratri - Maa Siddhidatri

Rama Navami - Significance and Importance

Kanya Pujan - Significance and Vidhi of Kanya Puja

6th Day of Navratri - Maa Katyayani

Chat now for Support