Purnima 2019

According to the Hindu-Lunar calendar, full moon days are called Purnima. Apart from coinciding with many Hindu festivals, Purnima holds a lot of importance and significance, especially in the Hindu community. Two Hindu deities who are prayed to and worshipped during Purnima are Lord Vishnu and Goddess Lakshmi.

Since on the day of Purnima, the Moon completes one cycle around the Earth, it is believed to signify birth and rebirth. Devotees perform special Purnima Pujas, to celebrate a new chapter and a new beginning for a person. Many people also associate Full Moons with new opportunities, and a chance to make a positive change in one’s life. Purnima 2019 will be observed on 12 days this year.

List of Purnima dates in 2019 include -

  • Pausha Purnima on 21st January

  • Magha Purnima on 19th February

  • Phalguna Purnima on 20th March

  • Chaitra Purnima on 19th April

  • Vaishakha Purnima on 18th May

  • Jyeshtha Purnima on 17th June

  • Ashadha Purnima on 16th July

  • Shravana Purnima on 15th August

  • Bhadrapada Purnima on 13th September

  • Ashwina Purnima on 13th October

  • Kartika Purnima on 11th November

  • Margashirsha Purnima on 11th December

For those of you who wish to find out how you can make the best of the coming Purnima, consult our professional astrologers and tarot card readers on astroyogi.com.

On each Purnima, some unique Purnima Puja Vidhi is adopted by devotees. It is believed that all Purnimas is Goddess Lakshmi’s favorite days when the Moon is bright and fully round in shape. Devotees pray and offer traditional sweets to Goddess Lakshmi, who is the Hindu Goddess of wealth, prosperity and fortune. It is believed that the Goddess fulfills the wishes and desires of devotees who worship her.

Goddess Lakshmi is believed to ‘sit’ on a Banyan tree or Peepal tree, at particular times on Purnima days. Devotees prepare sweets like kheer and also offer sweetened water and honey to the tree. Incense sticks (known as aggarbattis) are also lit by the worshippers. After the prayers, family members also hang a garland made of mango leaves (called toran) on the main entrance to the house which is believed to bring in prosperity and good fortune for the family.

For those who may not be doing well in financial matters, astrologers suggest that kheer should be offered to the moon while chanting prayers.

While all Purnima days are considered auspicious, 5 of these, in particular, namely Kartika Purnima, Magha Purnima, Sharad/ Ashwina Purnima, Guru/ Ashadha Purnima, and Buddha/ Vaishakha Purnima, are considered the most significant to pray to Goddess Lakshmi and to the Moon. Devotees also keep special Purnima vrats (fast) in order to be blessed with wealth and a good financial year.

Two important pujas performed include The Shree Satyanarayan Puja and The Maha Mrityunjay Jap. These are considered to be highly auspicious for devotees who wish for prosperity and happiness for themselves and their families. Lord Vishnu and Lord Shiva are worshipped during these ceremonies. Performing these pujas can make life better for the natives and reduce problems. Many families also perform these pujas after a marriage or job promotion or after purchasing new property, to thank God and seek His blessings.

Our reliable experts can help guide you on how to work on having a successful and prosperous year ahead, and how you can remedy malefic doshas on the upcoming Full Moon day.


www.Astroyogi.com #GPSforLife


How To Spiritua...

Despite being common, breakups are somehow underrated traumatic events in our lives. Often because of the frequency of breakups, people tend to minimize how deeply hurtful and dama...

Read More ➜

Mercury Transit...

The planet Mercury rules the zodiac signs Gemini and Virgo. Planet Mercury is considered to be significantly powerful in speech, wisdom, communication and even business as per the ...

Read More ➜

Venus - The Pla...

In Astrology, Venus is known for ruling the zodiac signs, Taurus and Libra. Despite being ruled by the same planet, the two zodiacs mostly exist on opposite ends of a spectrum, hav...

Read More ➜

Mars Transit in...

Mars is considered to be a fierce planet in Vedic Astrology that represents energy and vigor. It is also the lord of the first and eighth zodiac signs- Aries and Scorpio. Mars will...

Read More ➜