Skip Navigation Links
astroYogi differentiates Western and Vedic Astrology

astroYogi differentiates Western and Vedic Astrology

Astrology is one of the oldest occult art known to humans. It has been blended into different cultures and has imbibed some changes according to the culture and region it prevails. astroYogi’s expert astrologers differentiates the two prominent forms of astrology, Western and Vedic astrology.

Vedic astrology is the more recent name given to Hindu astrology or Indian astrology which originated in ancient India. It is also known regionally as ‘Jyotish’ which translates to the ‘science of light’, as it deals with the astral light patterns, which is reflected on the Earth. Vedic astrology emanated from the Vedas, which are the oldest books in existence. According to Vedic astrology, there are 12 Zodiac signs, 9 planets, and 12 houses, with each house and planet representing some aspect of human life. The birth chart or ‘Kundli’ of a person would map the 12 signs positioned among the 12 houses and 9 planets are placed in various houses. The planetary movements and positions would be analyzed in a horoscope analysis by an astrologist. Consult an expert astrologer for your horoscope analysis.

Western astrology, also known as Tropical astrology, is based on the belief that sun is the Centre of the Solar system and so is more important than stars. Here the Solar-based calendar is considered. Stars are grouped into constellations and each of these constellations are personified and named in accordance with their shapes as observed from earth, the sun moves slowly in a large circle for a year, passing through the constellations. This circle is divided into twelve equal portions and each portion is named after the constellation present in it (Called the Zodiac signs). The Zodiac signs according to western astrology are- Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces.

These signs are divided equally in a year and so any person’s birth date that falls under a certain sign is supposed to possess the personality traits and characteristics unique to the zodiac sign. Western astrology works with the Tropical Zodiac, based on the equinoxes which places the planets in their own signs and not into the signs of the constellations into which they are placed.

The basic difference between the two methods is that the Vedic zodiac is Sidereal while the Western is Tropical. The two horoscopes are visibly different too - While Vedic is square, the Western horoscope is round. For an expert consultation click here.

Traditionally Yours,



Tulsi Vivah 2018 - Dev Uthani Ekadashi

Tulsi Vivah 2018 -...

Tulsi Vivah (Dev Uthani /Devouthan Ekadshi) is the mythical ceremonial marriage of the Holy Basil (Tulsi) plant (Considered to be a form of Goddess Lakshmi) to Lord ...

Read more
Sun Transit in Scorpio - Biggest Planetary Change on 16th November 2018

Sun Transit in Sco...

From the astrological point of view, on the 16th of November, some important changes are taking place in the movement of the planets. According to astrology, the mov...

Read more
The Importance of Moon For a Tarot Reader

The Importance of ...

The beautiful Full Moon not only works as a muse for those who are poetically inclined, but is a great source of inspiration for those who rely on their intuitive ab...

Read more
Why Time of Birth Is Important in Vedic Astrology

Why Time of Birth ...

Since ancient times, Vedic astrologers have believed that the time of birth of every native is based on his past ‘karmas`. And so, Vedic Astrology uses the time, dat...

Read more
Akshay Navami 2018

Akshay Navami 2018

Akshay Navami, also known as Amla Navami, will be celebrated this year on 17th November. On this day, dedicated to Lord Vishnu, the Amla tree or plant is worshipped ...

Read more